The Effect of Frequent Dictation in Foreign Language Lessons

Залишити коментар

26.02.2017 від Tetyana Skrypkina

ELT Blog

This is a guest post written by Tetyana Skrypkina

In my teaching foreign languages practice I do use frequent dictations with my students. For it to be more successful, before the dictation I provide students with the list of unknown words and collocations, which might not be recognized by them due to the accent or speed of speech.  Firstly, I give the list of unknown words, we read and translate (if necessary; and yes, I use the L1 for explanations), play the whole tape, then students are to write one chunk of meaningful speech after another, keeping the chunks in their mind. This helps strengthen their memory.study-921885_1920

At first, this activity might be time consuming, but if you practice it regularly, each time you will need less and less time.

Here is a brief example of my German classes. I had a one-to-one Skype lessons with a student .  The books we use have…

View original post Ще 697 слів

Залишити відповідь

Enter your e-mail address to follow my blog and receive daily notifications of new posts by e-mail.

